About Me — Jimmy Ng

Nice to meet you!

Jimmy Ng, Ph. D
3 min readSep 1, 2022
Photograph by author.

Greetings, Earthlings! I’m super grateful you’ve come here to learn more about me.

Who Am I?

  • My name is Jimmy Ng. Both my parents were born in China and immigrated to the United States in their 20s. I was born and raised in Los Angeles, California and lived in California most of my life. I currently live in Phoenix, Arizona with my wife.
  • I have a bachelor’s degree in Physics and a master’s and PhD degree in materials science and engineering. I currently work as an engineer at a tech company doing semiconductor research and development (ie. we make computer chips).
  • I write about science, technology, and science fiction. I also like to discuss current events about aspects of our society moving from science fiction to science fact.
  • How are radio astronomers trying to detect signals from other advanced alien civilizations? Did you know a team of scientists has plans to resurrect the Wooly Mammoth using genetic engineering? These are the things I blog about.

Why Am I Posting on Medium?

The Universe is a lot cooler and weirder than you probably think. I started blogging because I want to share all the things that interested me with the rest of the world!

--

--

Jimmy Ng, Ph. D

I write about science, technology, and science fiction; 3x top writer (science, space, future); semiconductor engineer by day